Experience 2/12

What perfect timing to announce my second experience.  For a few reasons, this is a building I have been wanting to visit for awhile now.  Reason one – it was designed by probably the MOST famous architect – Frank Lloyd Wright.  Reason two – see reason one. FLW is NOT my favorite architect, but its pretty amazing San Francisco can boast this small, almost unknown building.  Located in Union Square (Union Square people!) , this building is an art gallery, called Xanadu, that specializes in art and antiques from all over the world.

Rumor (the internet) has it that FLW worked on this building during the same time he worked on the famous Guggenheim Museum in New York.  I posted the floor plan below, because it mimics the well known circular stair case of the Guggenheim – and because floor plans are pretty.

building – Xanadu Museum

architect – Frank Lloyd Wright

location – 140 Maiden Lane, San Francisco, CA 94108

date – Saturday, February 26, 2011

time – 2 – 4 pm

fun fact – Olivia Newton John starred in a film called Xanadu

after – lets buy some shoes.  totally kidding!  lets get out of tourist central and grab a drink!

About megstevens

World of blogging - follow me through my social experiment of gathering friends once a month on architectural walks of the lovely Bay Area. See what they produce through sketches, photos, thoughts, and other images - based on the knowledge I present to them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experience 2/12

  1. John Holt says:

    Nice blog. Could you tell me where you were able to find the floor plan for the Xanadu Gallery? I spent a while a Google trying to hunt one down but had no luck. Again, great blog and if you remember where that floor plan came from I would love to hear from you!

    Thanks,
    -John

    • megstevens says:

      Hey there John,

      Thank you for the kind words. A blog is a lot of work! I apologize for my delay in getting back to you.
      You know, I found the floor plan through a google search. I tried to re-find it and all that is coming up is what I posted.
      Interesting. Wish I could help you out more! If you have never visited the space, you really should…its gorgeous!

      Megan

Leave a Reply

